2020-2021 UTEP Alumni Association Board Members

Martha AguayoPresident

Martha Isabel Aguayo
1994 B.A. - Journalism

Home Pros Real Estate Group
Sales and Marketing Specialist

President-ElectBernardino Olague

Bernardino Olague
1991 B.S. - Civil Engineering,
2001 M.S. - Civil Engineering

LOI Engineers
Vice President


Immediate Past President

Laura Biggs
1996 BBA - Management

Department of Defense (Retired)

Toni CamachoTreasurer

Manuel Castruita
1988 BSED - Secondary Education,

1992 M.Ed. - Guidance & Counseling

El Paso Independent School District
Counseling and Advising Director


David Bird


Rebecca Ramos Birch
1975 BBA - Management

IBM Corporation (Retired)

Bothell, WA


David Bird

Vice President for Alumni Engagement

Dr. James Jones
1982 BBA - Business Management 

Operations Representative

San Antonio, TX


Vice President for Membership

Fred Lopez
2011 MA - Public Administration

Quantum Consultants / Realty Connect
Vice President

David Bird

Vice President for Student Engagement

Maria Zampini
1987 BBA - Management,
1990 MBA

University Medical Center
Chief Operating Officer

Bernardino Olague

Vice President for Ways and Means

John Mack
2007 BBA - Finance

Prudential Financial, Inc.
Sr. Director, Global Technology

Board Members-at-Large
Bernardino Olague

Dr. Rick Acevedo

2001 B.S., 2004 MS, 2013 MBA
2018 Ed.D. - Doctor of Education

University of Detroit
Career, Co-op & Entrepreneurial Center Director

Bernardino Olague

Javier Aguilar

2017 B.A. - Multimedia Journalism

UTEP Graduate Student - MPA

Bernardino Olague

Arturo Barrio

2002 BBA - Economics & CIS

The University of Texas at El Paso
Director of Collaboration and Stakeholder Development

David Bird

Dr. Helen M. Castillo

1974 BSN - Nursing

The University of Texas at El Paso and California State University (Retired)


Bernardino Olague

Michelle Esparza

2016 BBA - Economics

Mounce, Green, Myers, Safi, Paxson & Galatzan Law Firm


Bernardino Olague

George K. Farah

1999 BBA - Marketing

Farah Law Group, PLLC
Managing Attorney


Sergio M. Estrada

2007 B.A. - Political Science

Kemp Smith Law Firm
Associate Attorney

Rudy Gutierrez, Jr.

1985 BA - Journalism & Communication Studies,1998 M.A. Communication

El Paso Times (Retired)

David Bird

Dr. Pilar Herrera

1990 BSED,
1992 M.Ed. - Education Administration,

2003 Ed.D. - Leadership Administration

The University of Texas at El Paso (Retired)

David Bird

Dr. Venkateswara Kolli

1974 B.S., 1980 MD, 2017 MBA

Veterans Affairs Hospitals of El Paso
Staff Physician

David Bird

Brandy L. Peterson Maddox

2003 BS - Health Sciences

Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Health Scientist/Evaluation Specialist

Anthony Martinez

2009 B.A. - Multidisciplinary Studies
2011 MBA

Franchisee Owner


David Bird

Elizabeth Reyes 

1993 BSCE - Civil Engineering 

City of El Paso - CID 
Engineering Division Manager

Florida Simon Dotson

1980 BSEE - Electrical Engineering

Champions Real Estate Group
Broker Associate

Houston, TX


David Bird

Monica Thomas

2009 BA - Organizational & Corporate Communication

Munoz Trucking, Inc.
Associate Director of Business Development

David Bird

Daniel R. Valdez

2013 MBA - Business Administration

Ysleta Independent School District
Business Cooperative Education Coordinator, CTE Department Chair



The University of Texas at El Paso
500 West University Avenue | El Paso, Texas 79968 | (915) 747-8600
Copyright © 2018 The University of Texas at El Paso. All Rights Reserved